United Kingdom
United States


    Papercourt RS200 Open Meeting, 5th October 2014


    Seven RS 200s were greeted to a sunny but windless Papercourt lake on Sunday morning.  After a short postponement lady luck arrived with enough wind for one race before lunch, then two afterwards back-to-back.  Race officer Mike Ball plotted a simple windward to gate leeward course that worked for all three races.


    Each race saw a competitive fight on the start line with just enough space for the number of boats. Race 1 saw Jon Paton/Sue Michelmore lead away from the pin end, never to be overtaken. Dave Beaney/Mary Davis battled for a while with Bill Grose/Sally Cantello before pulling ahead and taking second place, with Fraser Hayden/Jane Argenti taking 3rd place just before the finish.


    After a substantial lunch, with all crews now being a bit heavier, the second race started in less wind.  Again Paton/Michelmore got ahead up the first beat leaving the following pack bunched up on the windward mark, and at the end of the race the finishing order was much the same as the morning race.


    With the flukey wind, positions changed rapidly and substantially, boats easily gaining or losing 4 or 5 places as the wind came and went.  The downwind part of the course proved to be the gain (or loss) leg as helms gybed their boats in order to take advantage of wind shifts and more wind speed.   The choice of two leeward marks provided a great tactical challenge, with the favoured mark changing as the wind shifted.


    The third race started with two boats over the line, but nevertheless the natural order of boats was established by the end of the race. 


    Thanks go to Guildford Marine who kindly sponsored the event with money vouchers for four boats - won by the top three, and last place. 


    Bill Grose

    Papercourt SC, RS200 Class Captain

    Full Results:


    1.Jon Paton/Sue Michelmore (PSC)

    2.David Beaney/Mary Davis (Castaways SC)

    3.Fraser Hayden/Jane Argenti (PSC)

    4.Bill Grose/Sally Cantello (PSC)

    5.George Beck/Melissa Meredith (PSC)

    6.Chris Lowe/Karl Lowe (PSC)

    7. Tom Key/Peter Howe (PSC)

    Website Security Test